The Commission’s Representatives

Professor Eva Schumann, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

She has been Professor of the History of German Law and Civil Law at the Faculty of Law at Georg-August-Universität Göttingen since 2004. Since 2007, she has been a full member of the Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities (where, among other things, she has chaired the commission on “The Function of the Law Past and Present“ and the management commission for the long-term project “Assessing the files of the Imperial Aulic Council”; she is a member of the inter-academic commission of the research unit on “A Middle High German Dictionary ” and of the commission for “Research into the Culture of the Late Medieval Period“). Applicant for and member of the Göttingen German Research Foundation graduate group on “Expert Cultures of the 12th to 18th centuries”, which was set up in 2009. Since 2012, she has been a member of the ”Working Group for Law and Contemporary History” at the Academy of Sciences and Literature Mainz. 

Professor Jan Thiessen, Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen

Since October 2010, he has held the Chair of Civil Law, German Legal History and Contemporary Judicial History, Trade and Association Law at the Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen; since March 2012 he has been Secretary of the specialist group for basic principles (method, comparative legal history, legal ethnology) of the Society for Comparative Law, registered association.

Professor Martin Will, EBS Universität Wiesbaden

Read Law, History and Sinology; after passing the Second State Examination in Law, he completed a Master of Laws (Cambridge) and acquired a doctorate in law (Mannheim); after completing his MA in History and Cultural Studies, he acquired a Dr. phil. (Marburg); after completing his Habilitation (postdoctoral university degree with lecture qualification), he took up the Chair of Public Law at the University of Cologne; Chair of Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, European Law, Law of New Technologies and Law History at the Business and Law School at EBS Universität Wiesbaden, Vice Dean of EBS Law School, Attorney in Frankfurt am Main.