The Commission

On 11 January 2012, Federal Minister of Justice Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger commissioned contemporary historian Professor Manfred Görtemaker and criminal law Professor Christoph Safferling to examine the national socialist past of the Federal Ministry of Justice. These two individuals head the Independent Commission at the Federal Ministry of Justice to Examine the National Socialist Past.

The present Federal Minister of Justice and Consumer Protection, Heiko Maas, welcomed the establishment of the Commission upon his appointment to office on 18 December 2013 and is continuing the project with the same intensity.

The research group of historians and jurists is also supported by additional university professors as well as by academic and student assistants.The following pages provide information about the individuals behind the project and their tasks.